Wednesday, November 25, 2009

2009 National Book Award Winners

Recently the National Book Foundation announced the winners of the 2009 National Book Awards:

Fiction: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
Non-Fiction: The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T. J. Stiles
Poetry: Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop
Young People's Literature: Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

In celebration of its 60th anniversary, the National Book Foundation is honoring its past winners by nominating six titles for the Best of the National Book Awards. Voting was open to the public. Over 10,000 people voted and Flannery O'Connor's Complete Stories, which originally won the NBA in 1972, was chosen as the Best of the Best for 2009.

1 comment:

doug mason said...

Fiction: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann

Yes! I bought that one as soon as it came out. I also have most of his British first editions signed. Great great writer.